My mom’s daughter!! (it’s not me!)


A forgotten dream it was, to my mom; to have a hearty laughter or to pause for a minute to see what we were doing, as kids. With the hectic schedule she had pushed herself into; it was unimaginable either to her or to any of us to even think of her sitting leisurely.  She was never a full-time mother. She had many roles to play- as a mom, as a teacher, as a daughter-in-law, as a wife and most importantly as a ‘domestic-engineer’. That’s too much multi-tasking to do!

There are times when I prayed God that he gifted me a new mommy for my birthday! Because I really wanted someone to listen to all my imaginations, sorrows and joys. The only expression my mom would give, for any utterance of mine, would be an almost impassive nod. I was somebody who wanted my mom to tell me if I could go to the bathroom! I was always craving for my mom’s attention but never got it. My mom was either unavailable or too pissed off to respond. 

Anyway I am not writing this to tell you about “How I braved my father and changed my mother” No, I didn’t do that, nor am I going to talk about it! (Going off the record, There are times when my dad and I made plans to get us a new mom, a good one this time around!)

This is about a difference I saw in my mom. A metamorphosis sort of!

It’s about now. Not much has changed in our lives. The mom is still the cutest of the family, still the busiest. We have gotten busy too, with our studies, friends and the lives we’ve created for ourselves. There a new member in the family who stayed with us for six months. A very naïve, sensitive, vulnerable and gullible person, but the cutest I’ve ever come across!

My mom is still busy, rather busier learning & upgrading herself. But this new member needed attention; more than we ever did, as kids. She would raise false alarms saying she’s badly cut her finger and needs medical care. She would talk too much to the guests unnecessarily. She would ask the same question repeatedly “Do I look tired?” or “Can I eat this, would my health be alright” She would pester my mom to take her for an outing. She would fall asleep on the couch, too tired to get up and go to her bedroom.  Sometimes she would even wet her bed, too slow to rush to the bathroom.

But my mom who seemed to be so impatient with us never tried to chide her. How much ever embarrassment it would bring her, how much ever work it would add to her routine, my mom would be patient with the new member. Not because she was our guest. After all she was my mom’s nearest and dearest. I wondered what made my mom change her attitude… towards… her mom!

The age had taken a toll on my mom’s mom- her new daughter now. Her patience had worn out. Now she demanded attention, demanded care even without being aware of what a ‘child’ she was being. My granny has no idea what she behaves like. She behaves naïve like a pro! It must be the love my mom got from her, the strength she inherited from the same person, that she’s able to give back so much.

I do not know how patient I am now. But I surely don’t have to look out of the window for inspiration! I’ve promised myself to be a mom to my mom when she needs me to!

Leave a comment