On a warm rainy Friday!!!


Almost every other person I talk to loves rain. Some say “Oh it’s so romantic” and some say “it’s so enjoyable”. But I hate rain. I rather hate its timing. I don’t know if it’s just a co-incidence but it always troubles me. I like rain but only when I am at leisure and am having a roof above my head and a hot cup of coffee in front of me. Ah! Nothing can beat the feeling; but when I am out, a big ‘No’ to rain. As if I control it!

It was a Friday. I stepped out of my office keeping my fingers crossed all the way. I didn’t want rain to ruin my weekend-eve. Oh Fridays are so good provided you reach home early and can sip your cup of coffee and can read a magazine… or you can just relax. Or you can meet up with a friend. Or you could just go out for shopping! Phew! You can do so much on a Friday. But this Friday that I am talking about was different. When it started raining, I was in despair. I was so frustrated. I was too tired not to reach home early. I was in need of a strong cup of coffee to soothe myself. It had been a long day.

I cursed rain for taking away my happiness. It didn’t seem to stop anytime soon. I somehow walked myself to the parking lot and wore my rain coat. I was too exasperated even to wait till the rain died down. I started riding my bike. But the downpour got rather heavier. I stopped near a coffee shop, desperate to grab a cup of coffee.  I dashed in and ordered a cup of south-Indian coffee and waited. The restaurant looked crowded. It only made sense. Who wouldn’t want to have coffee in such weather! I managed to find myself a table. I waited for my coffee while I was going through the menu.

After sometime the restaurant looked like a metro train; over-crowded. I saw this man who was searching for a table. I was seated in a table meant for two. The man approached me and asked me if I could share the table with him. I nodded to mean a yes. He was totally drenched in the rain. After a few minutes he made himself comfortable in his chair. I looked at him. He smiled. I smiled back. By then my long awaited coffee was served. “Awww!” I exclaimed happily. The aroma made the coffee irresistible. I sipped my coffee and I was in the heaven; almost. I was brought back to the earth by that man. “You have not added sugar, I guess!” he said. I said “I like sugarless coffee better”. He gave a look of pity and was about to say something. I cut him off and said “No-no. It’s nothing about my health. I just like it that way”. He laughed out and said “No I was about to say I like it sugarless too.” I laughed along.

It was still raining heavily. But the ambience was somewhat nice. Coffee when it’s raining outside. I was starting to feel comfortable. I didn’t have the urge to go back home anymore; May be because I had some company. The man and I kept exchanging smiles. After what seemed like ten minutes he too got his order served. I was busy with my coffee and a muffin that I had ordered, when he started up a conversation.

“So, dear one, how is life?” he asked me. I gave a look it was rather horrifying I suppose. He instantly said “I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have addressed you like that” I said “You need not apologize. But I was just taken aback by a sudden addressing of that sort” so went on our conversation.

It was almost 9 pm when we sensed that time didn’t stop moving. It was so nice talking to that person. And suddenly he said “Let’s go to my apartment”. I agreed. He insisted that we go by his car since there were chances that it rained yet again. So I asked him what I was supposed to do about my bike. He said he could send someone to get it. And then we both left from there. We never kept quiet on our way to his apartment.

I felt as though I knew this man since very long. I already shared a bonding with him. He seemed to feel the same about me. May be because we actually knew each other since I was born. By the time we reached his apartment mom was waiting for us at the door. Dad and I got thorough lecture from mom for getting back home so late without informing her.

So that was it. I’d met dad at the coffee shop. We always loved this game of playing strangers to each other. It was just another day we played the game. And it always felt as refreshing, enjoyable and superb as ever. I slept with a happy heart that night for dad found some time to catch up with his stranger-daughter.

1 Comment

  1. Manjunatha Jayaram

    Wow………! its superb, thanks a lot.. I will also try this game.

Leave a comment