One hell of a day!


It had been four days since I had started waiting in that queue which seemed almost never-ending… It looked like it’d take infinity before anybody got their turn. Thus everyone had made their waiting spots, their home. The wait was indeed cumbersome. But we were all kept engaged, we got to watch a lot of cheerleaders dance and we were served delicious six course meal four times a day. And not to forget the mouth watering sweets and desserts that were served (All this at no cost!). But still the wait made me anxious and reckless. That is when I started screaming out loud pleading the officers to make it soon.

Four days here translates to 400 years earth time. We were all happy to be there. It never felt so long. But then I was very eager to choose my place of birth, my going-to-be parents, and my siblings and so on. Finally it was my turn after so many days.

The procedure was very lengthy. We’d be given a list of positives and negatives of our past life and we’d have to go through the document carefully, clarify with the concerned officers in case we had doubts. We could lodge a complaint if there were any false allegations or accreditations which would be forwarded to a court and would be solved within minutes and we’ll have to go through the rest of the procedure.

Based on our positive scores, we’d be given preferences; one would get to choose their place of birth, health, wealth, people around them in their birth, intelligence, happiness, spiritual superiority and so on. People whose sins outnumber their good deeds get to choose lesser. Their choices would get limited and restricted. More the sins lesser the preferences thus low life profile.

After the choices are made, we’d get to choose our looks, which would be designed by some of the greatest creators again depending on the merit. Person with a lot of negative balance would have to go to a trainee while a person with a lot of positives will go to the experts and would also get to choose from a wide range of beautiful looks.

Then, comes the choice of life span. Again in every aspect we’d get to choose based on our past history.

Oh! I’m sorry. I almost forgot to mention! I was in the time (or space or life or whatever you call it) after death. I was a Business man in my last birth. I was from 16th century. (However, I have been in many earth times even before that, in various forms) I was waiting to get my turn for my next birth. It’s 20th century already. Here I was still following procedures.

To wait in queues, we were first divided into groups. Souls with more than 80% positives in previous birth would get to be born in India. To be born in India we had to wait in long queues as this one. Now you know why India is so largely populated! But I was so lucky that I hadn’t sinned much in my last birth. So I could be born in the place of divinity, the place of Gods- India.

The officials here are so intelligent. They would do all the permutations and combinations required to fit in all the people and their preferences based on the criteria. There is no question of mistake or loopholes. If there is anything opposite to the present bureaucracies this is it. The work is fairly distributed among the officials and would be carried out in a phenomenal way.

I had already chosen my parents, I didn’t want many siblings like in my last birth (I had 20 siblings then or may be more!!) so I chose just one, who was to follow me. I even got to choose my looks, my health, wealth, my star signs and everything else. I was getting more anxious now that I was getting closer to be born again.

After I made my choices, I was asked to go to the design room, where the creators would sketch and make a model of our looks. I sat there and was so amazed by the novelty of the room itself. When the creator, accompanied by his assistants, came to the room in no time they got on with the work. They showed me many designs of face, nose, teeth, eyes, hair color and complexion and so on. I chose everything to fit my imagination of beauty. The only bad thing about the creators is they’d not make any comments or suggestions even when our choices go wrong but will provide only that which is asked for.

It was in the next room that a model of the design would be made. While that was being carried out, I was taken to a room where an angel (who would be the guardian angel for my coming birth) would caution us about what not to do (which, of course will be forgotten by us after becoming earthlings) this, she said could be remembered only if we trained ourselves spiritually and realized our origin. (Anyway, I was too happy and anxious to listen to all this Gyan) She then assured me that she’d be protecting me whenever necessary which again, she said depends on my behavior.

After the counseling was over I was given a thing which in earthly terms is like a memory card which would contain infinite amount of knowledge and power (this was given to everybody- with the same amount of data, however the accessibility of this would differ from person to person depending on their behaviour in their birth). I was to take that memory card and ask the model creators to fit it in the model in what’s called brain. The creators said I cannot access the memory card very easily however with a lot of effort and penance (penance for knowledge or for God) that could be achieved. They also cautioned me not to compare my accessibility with others’ since a few souls can access it easily again this is also based on their positivity they said.

They were still making my model. The nose was yet to be trimmed a little; my ears had to be fixed a little bit. My eyes were to be enlarged. And a few more corrections were to be done, to fit my preference. But I was too eager to be born and thus I took my model, fixed the memory-card-like thing in a place which I found was apt. and I ran away without looking back.

I knew my destination. I was dancing with joy on the way. A few Angels, who were flying by, wished me luck and blessed me. I was flying in that beautiful cloudy sky suddenly the speed was accelerated. I plummeted to a place. It was completely dark. It had a bad stink. I suddenly regretted my eagerness to have come here. I felt bad for not waiting till my model was completed. I spent 9 long months in that place floating in what seemed like dirty water.

When I was released, I cried, for I wanted to go back. Suddenly I felt happy. I was looking at my dad. I knew it was him; I had chosen him to be my dad after all. Then I cried again. I felt this weird vibration in my body. Which I later came to know was termed ‘hunger’. My mom fed me. I felt at bliss.

Slowly I got adapted to my new home as an earthling. I was happy until it occurred to me one day that I had almost forgotten about the knowledge chip. I had put it somewhere in my brain but didn’t remember where. I had no access to it anymore. I had no clue what to do.

‘To hell with the chip’ I thought. ‘I have chosen the best looks’.

I stood in front of the mirror, to marvel my choice of looks! Oh I was a blunder so half-done! I had ran away from the creator’s room. My nose was as big as an apple; may not be so big, but still bigger than anybody would choose their nose to be. My eyes were too small. My ears almost hit the person next to me. No, not that big of course. But still, it was protruding out of my body. To hell with my looks I thought ’I have made a good choice of parents and a sister’.

I convinced myself by telling ‘Oh! That’s alright. At least, I waited till the parts were attached, though the shapes are irregular. However, I have more chances. I will choose better for my next birth.’

I looked at the vastness of the sky and said ‘My dear Guardian angel, you should have warned me about not being in such a hurry’ I felt a laugh from the sky as a reply.

3 Comments

  1. Chetan

    Hmm… nice work.. but was a bit boring kano.. d parts wer u refer to d past deeds n future virtues were somwat repetitive.. D imagination was just out of d box, i shud admit.. I wud expect blogs lyk dis frm a sanyasi/devdas typo, not u….!!!! Plz do write somthn on d oder side of lyf.. a cheerful n joyous journey…:)

    • First of all, thanks a lot for your time and feedback. It was totally apt and i will keep in mind all the things you said so i can better my next article. and coming to the topic… nothing very philosophical about it. just a thought elaborated (of course elaborated too much). thanks once again… 🙂

  2. Sri Santhosh.V(Santhu.sans)

    You gotta different kind of narration style keep it up! Untill you started to introduce the character(business man in earlier lyf) I felt “Lil” boring but after dat I enjoyed like I am dreaming wat and how will happen in heaven……nice one liked it 🙂

Leave a comment